My Why

January 6, 2016 was the day that I knew I would be let go from my job of 9 months.  I began the preparation to transition to unemployed by completing my registration with Uber and signing up with Lyft which got me on the road within a couple of days and I have not looked back.

The 2014 Ford Fiesta I was driving turned out to be a bit small for my long-legged passengers. When the lease was up two months later, I decided to upgrade to the very roomy Ford Fusion which turns out was a worthy investment.

To maximize my earning potential, I have developed my own driving patterns to get my day started and decide where and when I will drive.  Of course, there are times when I end up with ride requests to an area I am not familiar or comfortable with. When this happens, the app is put on pause until I am ready to accept passengers again.

One of the great things about driving is the flexibility in my schedule which now allows me to spend time with my children and work on other projects as I build towards a new career.  Meeting people from all over the world and all walks of life has been an amazing experience. Technology has changed the way we live our lives and offers increased potential for realizing our dreams and pursuing new paths for a better future.

I look forward to sharing with you my insights and, hopefully, entertaining stories from passengers and other drivers.  Remember, with Lyft and Uber, there is no excuse for drinking and driving, the cost is too high.

Leave a Reply

